Skip to main content

World Jiu Jitsu Championship: 1996

The World Jiu-Jitsu Championship (commonly known as Mundials) is the most prestigious (BJJ) tournament in the world. They are hosted annually by the International Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Federation. The first Mundial tournament to be held outside of Brazil was in 2007 at the California State University in Long Beach, California, USA. This trend continued with the 2008 Mundials, once again in Long Beach, California. The first World Championship was held in 1996 at the Tijuca Tênis Clube gymnasium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and has since grown tremendously, with over 1650 competitors (including 250 foreign athletes) fighting before a crowd of over 12,000 in the 2005 championship.
Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Year Host 57 kg 64 kg 70 kg 76 kg 82 kg 88 kg 94 kg 100 kg +100 kg Absolute
1996 Brazil Brazil Marcos Barreto (1/1) Brazil Helio Morrira (1/1) Brazil Royler Gracie (1/4) Brazil Paulo Barroso (1/1) Brazil Roberto Correra (1/1) Brazil Roberto Magalhaes (1/4) Brazil Fabio Gurgel (1/4) Brazil Ricardo Liborio (1/1) Brazil Mario Sperry (1/3) Brazil Amaury Bitteti (1/2)

Below are some videos from the first 1996 Mundials.


Popular posts from this blog

What is this tab on your Jiu Jitsu belt?

As we are getting closer to graduation, students that are not getting promoted to the next belt will likely to receive stripes instead. If you do not have a black tab on your belt, we cannot give you stripes. Why do we have stripes? The Gracies decided to have a stripes system in order to be different from Judo. As it takes 1-3 years between belts, it is nice to receive stripes once in a while. How often do we give stripes? It is usually done during graduation which is usually held twice a year (August and December). What if you miss the graduation event? No worries, we will give them during the following classes.   How many stripes can I get? You can get up to 4 stripes. Is there a minimum number of stripes in order to get the next belt?   No, in fact some schools do not bother with stripes. You can move to the next belt even if you do not have any stripes. What is the red tab for? It is for the instructors. A blue

The curse of the blue belt

I will teach you a black belt magic trick in Jiu Jitsu. If you want a student to disappear: give him a blue belt. It is recurring event in the life of an instructor and a club. If you think the drop out of white belts is bad enough, the ratio of drop out of the blue belts is worst. I am not sure if I agree with statistics on this picture. But the issue is not really about arguing about the percentages of drop out but more on discussing the reasons for such drop out and what we can do to prevent it.  Reasons for the drop out: It takes a long time to achieve a blue belt. It average between 1-3 years. After 1-3 years of training, people loose interest and wants to start a new sport or hobby. The goal of the student was to achieve the blue belt and not the black belt. Personal situations changes over the years. Lot of people that start training are young single males with disposable income. Lot of them are at university level or are single. Add a few more years and they

Auckland BJJ Police Training

  On the 17th of January we had our second Police training session at Auckland BJJ. Several of our members are police officers and they had asked if they can use the Dojo to do some training and practice off duty. We were happy to help and Stu and Jora helped out organizing the training.  We covered a few techniques that we thought would help these officers, and then we did some sparing sessions where they could apply these techniques. Below is a video of one of our arrest the black belt sessions :-) Auckland BJJ is happy to help the NZ police. Here is a gratuitous shot of my daughter and a police car.