Skip to main content

Taking new students for the new semester

Year 2019

Semester 2

Monday 24 June:
Graduation for Semester One

Week 1 (Starts Tuesday 25 June)
Fundamentals: Mount


Week 2 (Starts Monday 01 July)
Fundamentals: Back


Week 3 (Starts Monday 08 July)
Fundamentals: Side Control


Week 4 (Starts Monday 15 July)
Fundamentals: Knee on the belly



Week 5 (Starts Monday 22 July)
Fundamentals: North South


Week 6 (Starts Monday 29 July)
Fundamentals: Guard Submissions


Week 7 (Starts Monday 05 August)
Fundamentals: Guard passes


Week 8 (Starts Monday 12 August)
Fundamentals: Guard sweeps



Week 9 (Starts Monday 19 August)
Fundamentals: Top half guard



Week 10 (Starts Monday 26 August)
Fundamentals: Bottom half guard


Week 11 (Starts Monday 2 Sept)
Fundamentals: Turtle



Week 12 (Starts Monday 9 Sept)
Fundamentals: Questions and Answers


Week 13 (Starts Monday 16 Sept)
Fundamentals: Mount



Week 14 (Starts Monday 23 Sept)
Fundamentals: Back

Saturday 28 September
NZ GRAPPLER GI NATIONALS


Week 15  (Starts Monday 30 Sept)
Fundamentals: Side Control


Week 16 (Starts Monday 07 Oct)
Fundamentals: Knee on belly


Week 17 (Starts Monday 14 Oct)
Fundamentals: North South


Week 18 (Starts Monday 21 Oct)
Fundamentals: Guard submissions


Week 19 (Starts Monday 28 Oct)
Fundamentals: Guard Passes


Week 20 (Starts Monday 04 Nov)
Fundamentals: Guard sweeps



Week 21 (Starts Monday 11 Nov)
Fundamentals: Top Half guard


Week 22 (Starts Monday 18 Nov)
Fundamentals: Bottom half guard


Week 23 (Starts Monday 25 Nov)
Fundamentals: Turtle


Week 24  (Starts Monday 02 Dec)
Fundamental: Questions and Answers


Week 25  (Starts Monday 9 December)

Graduation for semester Semester two on Monday 09 December at Sandringham


Wednesday 19 Dec is last day of class at Sandringham
Thursday 20 Dec is last day of class at Epsom

Restart classes to be confirmed

Monday 06 Jan 2020 at Sandringham
Tuesday 07 Jan 2020 at Epsom


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

What is this tab on your Jiu Jitsu belt?

As we are getting closer to graduation, students that are not getting promoted to the next belt will likely to receive stripes instead. If you do not have a black tab on your belt, we cannot give you stripes. Why do we have stripes? The Gracies decided to have a stripes system in order to be different from Judo. As it takes 1-3 years between belts, it is nice to receive stripes once in a while. How often do we give stripes? It is usually done during graduation which is usually held twice a year (August and December). What if you miss the graduation event? No worries, we will give them during the following classes.   How many stripes can I get? You can get up to 4 stripes. Is there a minimum number of stripes in order to get the next belt?   No, in fact some schools do not bother with stripes. You can move to the next belt even if you do not have any stripes. What is the red tab for? It is for the instructors. A blue

The curse of the blue belt

I will teach you a black belt magic trick in Jiu Jitsu. If you want a student to disappear: give him a blue belt. It is recurring event in the life of an instructor and a club. If you think the drop out of white belts is bad enough, the ratio of drop out of the blue belts is worst. I am not sure if I agree with statistics on this picture. But the issue is not really about arguing about the percentages of drop out but more on discussing the reasons for such drop out and what we can do to prevent it.  Reasons for the drop out: It takes a long time to achieve a blue belt. It average between 1-3 years. After 1-3 years of training, people loose interest and wants to start a new sport or hobby. The goal of the student was to achieve the blue belt and not the black belt. Personal situations changes over the years. Lot of people that start training are young single males with disposable income. Lot of them are at university level or are single. Add a few more years and they

Auckland BJJ Police Training

  On the 17th of January we had our second Police training session at Auckland BJJ. Several of our members are police officers and they had asked if they can use the Dojo to do some training and practice off duty. We were happy to help and Stu and Jora helped out organizing the training.  We covered a few techniques that we thought would help these officers, and then we did some sparing sessions where they could apply these techniques. Below is a video of one of our arrest the black belt sessions :-) Auckland BJJ is happy to help the NZ police. Here is a gratuitous shot of my daughter and a police car.