Skip to main content

Fundamental (beginners) program for Semester 1 (2020)

Year 2020

Fundamentals

Semester 1



Sandringham Dojo starts from Monday 06 Jan.

Epsom Dojo starts from Tuesday 14 Jan.

On the first week at Sandringham, topic for the week would be at the discreation of the instructors. 

Topics for advanced students are a lot more flexible and depends on the particular needs of the students. 




Week 1 (Starts Monday 13 Jan)
Fundamentals: Mount


Week 2 (Starts Monday 20 Jan)
Fundamentals: Back


Week 3 (Starts Monday 27 Jan)
Fundamentals: Side Control


Week 4 (Starts Monday 03 Feb)
Fundamentals: Knee on the belly



Week 5 (Starts Monday 10 Feb))
Fundamentals: North South


Week 6 (Starts Monday 17 Feb)
Fundamentals: Guard Submissions


Week 7 (Starts Monday 24 Feb)

Fundamentals: Guard passes


Week 8 (Starts Monday 2 March)
Fundamentals: Guard sweeps




Week 9 (Starts Monday 9 March)
Fundamentals: Top half guard



Week 10 (Starts Monday 16 March)

Fundamentals: Bottom half guard


Week 11 (Starts Monday 23 March)
Fundamentals: Turtle



Week 12 (Starts Monday 30 March)
Fundamentals: Questions and Answers


Week 13 (Starts Monday 06 April)

Fundamentals: Mount



Week 14 (Starts Monday 13 April)

Fundamentals: Back




Week 15  (Starts Monday 20 April)
Fundamentals: Side Control


Week 16 (Starts Monday 27 April)

Fundamentals: Knee on belly


Week 17 (Starts Monday 04 May)
Fundamentals: North South


Week 18 (Starts Monday 11 May)

Fundamentals: Guard submissions


Week 19 (Starts Monday 18 May)

Fundamentals: Guard Passes


Week 20 (Starts Monday 25 May)

Fundamentals: Guard sweeps



Week 21 (Starts Monday 01 June)

Fundamentals: Top Half guard


Week 22 (Starts Monday 08 June)

Fundamentals: Bottom half guard


Week 23 (Starts Monday 15 June)

Fundamentals: Turtle


Week 24  (Starts Monday 22 June)

Graduation for semester Semester two on Monday 29 June at Sandringham





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

What is this tab on your Jiu Jitsu belt?

As we are getting closer to graduation, students that are not getting promoted to the next belt will likely to receive stripes instead. If you do not have a black tab on your belt, we cannot give you stripes. Why do we have stripes? The Gracies decided to have a stripes system in order to be different from Judo. As it takes 1-3 years between belts, it is nice to receive stripes once in a while. How often do we give stripes? It is usually done during graduation which is usually held twice a year (August and December). What if you miss the graduation event? No worries, we will give them during the following classes.   How many stripes can I get? You can get up to 4 stripes. Is there a minimum number of stripes in order to get the next belt?   No, in fact some schools do not bother with stripes. You can move to the next belt even if you do not have any stripes. What is the red tab for? It is for the instructors. A blue

The curse of the blue belt

I will teach you a black belt magic trick in Jiu Jitsu. If you want a student to disappear: give him a blue belt. It is recurring event in the life of an instructor and a club. If you think the drop out of white belts is bad enough, the ratio of drop out of the blue belts is worst. I am not sure if I agree with statistics on this picture. But the issue is not really about arguing about the percentages of drop out but more on discussing the reasons for such drop out and what we can do to prevent it.  Reasons for the drop out: It takes a long time to achieve a blue belt. It average between 1-3 years. After 1-3 years of training, people loose interest and wants to start a new sport or hobby. The goal of the student was to achieve the blue belt and not the black belt. Personal situations changes over the years. Lot of people that start training are young single males with disposable income. Lot of them are at university level or are single. Add a few more years and they

Auckland BJJ Police Training

  On the 17th of January we had our second Police training session at Auckland BJJ. Several of our members are police officers and they had asked if they can use the Dojo to do some training and practice off duty. We were happy to help and Stu and Jora helped out organizing the training.  We covered a few techniques that we thought would help these officers, and then we did some sparing sessions where they could apply these techniques. Below is a video of one of our arrest the black belt sessions :-) Auckland BJJ is happy to help the NZ police. Here is a gratuitous shot of my daughter and a police car.